Distinguished Service Award

For significant accomplishments in improving the administration of justice in the insolvency and bankruptcy field, primarily arising from volunteer activities (rather than services to a client or as a judge or other professional).

Distinguished Service Award Criteria

2022 Distinguished Service Award Presented to Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff

Click here to read Judge Perris' Remarks
Clck here to read Judge Wedoff's Remarks

Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff

2021 Distinguished Service Award Presented to Hon. Barbara J. Houser

Click here to read Judge Houser's Remarks
Click here to read Judge Ambro's Remarks

Hon. Barbara J. Houser

Past Distinguished Service Awards

  • 2024 James H. M. Sprayregen (Chicago, IL)
  • 2023 Douglas G. Baird (Chicago, IL)
  • 2022 Eugene Wedoff (Chicago, IL)
  • 2021 Barbara J. Houser (Dallas, TX)
  • 2020 William J. Perlstein (New York, NY)
  • 2019 D.J. (Jan) Baker (New York, NY)
  • 2018 Elizabeth L. Perris (Portland, OR)
  • 2017 Thomas L. Ambro (Wilmington, DE)
  • 2016 Henry J. Sommer (Philadelphia, PA)
  • 2016 Jay L. Westbrook (Austin, TX)
  • 2015 Richard B. Levin (New York, NY)
  • 2015 Kenneth N. Klee (Los Angeles, CA)
  • 2014 Carolyn Dineen King (Houston, TX)
  • 2013 Burton R. Lifland (New York, NY)*
  • 2012 Patrick A. Murphy (San Francisco, CA)*
  • 2011 Leonard H. Gilbert (Tampa, FL)
  • 2010 R. Neal Batson (Snowmass Village, CO)
  • 2009 Ralph R. Mabey (Salt Lake City, UT)
  • 2008 David T. Sykes (Philadelphia, PA)*
  • 2007 Raymond L. Shapiro (Philadelphia, PA)
  • 2006 J. Ronald Trost (New York, NY)
  • 2005 Harvey R. Miller (New York, NY)*
  • 2004 Jerry Patchan (Hunting Valley, OH)*
  • 2003 Leonard M. Rosen (New York, NY)*
  • 2002 William L. Norton, Jr. (Gainesville, GA)*
  • 2001 Bernard Shapiro (Los Angeles, CA)*
  • 2000 Gerald K. Smith (Tucson, AZ)
  • 1999 Joe Lee (Lexington, KY)*
  • 1998 Leon S. Forman (Philadelphia, PA)*
  • 1997 Lawrence P. King (New York, NY)*
  • 1996 Frank R. Kennedy (Ann Arbor, MI)*

*denotes deceased

Distinguished Service Award History

View Past Distinguished Service Award photo, introductions and remarks.

Distinguished Service Award History

Award Criteria for the Distinguished Service Award

The recipient must have made significant accomplishments in improving the administration of justice in the insolvency and bankruptcy field:

  1. The recipient must have provided distinguished service consistently rendered over a considerable period of time or a single outstanding achievement in a particular year. (The fact that a single achievement may have occurred before the year of recognition is not material.);
  2. The accomplishments must arise from voluntary activities rather than for services rendered to a client as a paid professional. (This is not intended to exclude members of the judiciary, Congress, or the academic community.);
  3. The recipient shall be a member of the American College of Bankruptcy;
  4. The recipient must distinguish himself or herself or his or her institution in a manner and in matters that are consistent with the goals and purposes of the College; and
  5. Participation in or service to the College will be considered when reviewing candidates for the award.

(as ratified by the Board of Directors October 28, 2018)