Membership Information

Membership Nominations

Fellows are selected on an invitation only basis. Nominees for Fellows are extended an invitation to join based on a record of achievement in the insolvency process by professionals who have distinguished themselves in their practice and in their contribution to the insolvency field. The College now has over 800 Fellows, each selected by a Board of Regents from among recommendations of the Circuit Admissions Council in each federal judicial circuit and specially appointed Committees for Judicial and International Fellows.The College plays an important role in sustaining professional excellence and supports educational and pro bono efforts in local communities around the country. Criteria for selection include: the highest standard of professionalism, ethics, character, integrity, professional expertise and leadership in contributing to the enhancement of bankruptcy and insolvency processes; sustained evidence of scholarship, teaching, lecturing or writing on bankruptcy or insolvency; and commitment to elevate knowledge and understanding of the profession and public respect for the practice.

Judges, lawyers, international fellows, and accountants are to be licensed to practice for at least 15 years, be primarily in the bankruptcy and insolvency areas for at least 10 years, and in the case of judges be a judge for 5 years.

The Class  36 membership nomination forms can be found here. Fellows need to log in to access those forms. If you need your College login details, email Jenny Cudahy at

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is responsible for nomination and selection of qualified candidates to fellowship in the College. One Regent is appointed from each of eleven federal judicial circuits and three Regents are appointed At Large. Each Regent of a federal judicial circuit serves as Chair of its Circuit Admissions Council. The Board of Regents has the sole authority to elect Fellows to the College. The members are:


Jennifer C. Hagle (Chair, Board of Regents)Los Angeles, CA

1st Circuit

Douglas R. GoodingBoston, MA

2nd Circuit

Kelley A. CornishNew York, NY

3rd Circuit

Derek C. AbbottWilmington, DE

4th Circuit

Michael St. Patrick BaxterWashington, DC

5th Circuit

Deborah D. WilliamsonSan Antonio, TX

6th Circuit

Rozanne M. GiuntaMidland, MI

7th Circuit

Brian L. ShawChicago, IL

8th Circuit

Eric W. LamCedar Rapids, IA

9th Circuit

Debra GrassgreenSan Francisco, CA

10th Circuit

Annette W. JarvisSalt Lake City, UT

11th Circuit

Elizabeth A. GreenOrlando, FL


Randall S. EisenbergNew York, NY

Angela LittwinAustin, TX

Deborah Lee ThorneChicago, IL

Erithe A. Smith (DEI Representative to the Board of Regents)Santa Ana, CA

Judicial Nominating Committee

The Committee is established by Art. IV, Sect 3(e) of the By-Laws and is responsible for initiating and nominating judges for admission as Fellows of the College. The members are:

Kevin R. Huennekens (Chair)Richmond, VA

Janet E. BostwickBoston, MA

Michael B. KaplanTrenton, NJ

Alan R. LepeneCleveland, OH

James T. MarkusDenver, CO

Thomas E. PattersonLos Angeles, CA

James M. PeckNew York, NY

Nancy A. PetermanChicago, IL

Berry D. SpearsAustin, TX

Kathy A. Surratt-States (Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee Designee)St. Louis, MO

Deborah Lee ThorneChicago, IL

International Fellows Nominating Committee

The Committee is established by Art. IV, Sec. 3(f) of the By-Laws and is responsible for initiating and nominating International Fellows of the College. The members are:

Luis Manuel C. Méjan (Chair)Mexico, DF

Kenneth L. Cannon IISalt Lake City, UT

Thomas S. HeatherMexico, DF

Paul J. Keenan, Jr.Miami, FL

Enrique S. Lamoutte-InclanSan Juan, PR

John M. MarsdenHong Kong

D. J. MillerToronto, ON

Tracy C. SandlerToronto, ON

Additional Membership Information

Circuit Admissions Council
Membership Nomination and Forms (Fellows must be logged in to access these forms. If you need your College login details, please email Jenny Cudahy at