Personal Photo

Hon. Catherine J. Furay


Current Position

U.S. Bankruptcy Court
Western District of Wisconsin
US Courthouse
120 N Henry Street
Room 340
Madison, WI 53703-2559

Tel: 608-264-5188

Class: XXXI (2020)Circuit: Seventh


University of Wisconsin - Madison, J.D. (1978-80)
University of Wisconsin - Stout, M.S. (1974-75)
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire, B.A. (1970-74)

Professional Career

Chief Judge, United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Wisconsin (January 2013 to present)


National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges, Board of Governors (2015-18); Technology Committee (2013-16); NextGen Committee (2013-15); Finance Committee (2014-21); Elections Committee (2018-19); E-Learning Committee (2017 --) (2013 to present)
Turnaround Management Association, Author: Body of Knowledge-Legal Principals; Certification Oversight Committee (2017 to Present), Past President and Chair; Board of Trustees (2019 - ), Executive Committee (2017-18) (2016 to present)
American Bankruptcy Institute, Member; Past member of Asset Sales Committee, Bankruptcy Litigation Committee, Business Reorganization Committee; Wedoff Consumer Bankruptcy Advisory Committee; Central States Bankruptcy Seminar Advisory Committee, Judicial Co-Chair (1992 to present)
State Bar of Wisconsin, Board of Governors (1988-1993); Executive Committee (1988-90 and 1992-93); Board of Bar Examiners Review Committee (1991-93); Board of Professional Responsibility Study Committee (1990-97); Convention Committee Chair (1994-96); Wisconsin Law Foundation Strategic Planning Committee (2006-08); (1981 - present)
Western District of Wisconsin Bankruptcy Bar Association, Co-Founder; Board of Directors (2001-03); Program Chair (2001)


Contributing Author LexisNexis Construction Law - Bankruptcy Chapter June 2017 and March 2019 Contributing Author
Business Advisor Series: Collections and Bankruptcy Pinnacle Books Bankruptcy and Insolvency 2015, 2017 and 2019 C0-Author
Ginsberg & Martin On Bankruptcy Wolters Kluwer Book 2019 to present Editor-in-Chief


State Bar of Wisconsin, Distinguished Service Award (1994)
Turnaround Management Association, TMA Chairman's Award (2016)