Personal Photo

Deborah Langehennig

Chapter 13 Trustee

Current Position

Standing Chapter 13 Trustee
Western District of Texas
P.O. Box 91419
Austin, TX 78709

Tel: 512-912-0305

Class: XX (2009)Circuit: Fifth


University of Texas School of Law, J.D. (1988)

Professional Career

Chapter 13 Trustee (2002-)
Briefing Attorney to the Honorable Larry E. Kelly, Chief U.S. Bankruptcy Judge Western District of Texas (1990-02)


Bankruptcy Law Section, State Bar of Texas, Chair (2007-08)
NACTT Quarterly, Editorial Board (2007-2015)
ABI Journal, Contributing Editor
College of the State Bar of Texas
American Bankruptcy Institute
University of Texas Professional Development Center, Advisory Board (2005-2014)
University of Texas School of Law, Coach: Bankruptcy Moot Court Team (2003-)
ABA Consumer Bankruptcy Litigation Committee, Co-Chair (2010-2015)
ABI Consumer Bankruptcy Committee, Special Projects Director (2017-2018)
Hon. Larry E. Kelly Bankruptcy Inn of Court, President (2016-2018)


"Consumer Cases that Impact Business Cases," NACTT Quarterly 2007 Author
"Application of the Till Interest Rate," Texas Bar Journal 2005 Author
ABI Journal Contributing editor
Frequent author and lecturer on consumer and commercial bankruptcy topics.
"Moving in the Right Direction: Reed v. City of Arlington" Norton Bankruptcy Law Advisor Jan 2012 Author
"To Infinity and Beyond: Exploring the Reach of the Automatic Stay" American Bankruptcy Institute Journal Dec/Jan 2012 Co-Author
"Litigation Claims in Consumer Bankruptcy Cases" ABA Section of Litigation, Bankruptcy & Insolvency Jul 2011 Author
Is 13 the Lucky Number for Student Loan Debtors? ABI Journal September 2016 Co-Author


Bankruptcy Law Section- State Bar of Texas, Distinguished Service Award (2006)
Fifth Circuit Bench Bar, Serviam Award (2016)
State Bar of Texas Bankruptcy Law Section, Pro Bono Award (2017)
State Bar of Texas Bankruptcy Law Section, Outstanding Woman Attorney (2016)
Bankruptcy Law Section - State Bar of Texas, Community Service Award (2021)
King Award for Career Achievement (2022)