Personal Photo

Hon. Gregg W. Zive

United States Bankruptcy Judge

Current Position

U.S. Bankruptcy Court
300 Booth Street
Reno, NV 89509

Tel: 775-326-2130
Fax: 775-326-2135

Class: XVI (2005)Circuit: Ninth


University of Nevada, B.A. (Journalism) (1967)
University of Notre Dame Law School, J.D., magna cum laude (1973)

Professional Career

Partner, Bible, Hoy, Trachok, Wadhams & Zive (1992-95)
Partner, Lionel Sawyer & Collins (1990-92)
Partner, Hale, Lane, Peek, Dennison & Howard (1976-90)


Washoe County Bar Association, President (1992-93)
9th Circuit Standing Committee on ADR (2002-05)
Public Information and Community Outreach Committee for the Ninth Circuit (2004-09)
National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges: President (2008-09); President-Elect (2007-08); Board of Governors (1998-01); Board of Directors; Endowment for Education (2001-07); Ethics Committee (1997); Chair, Public Outreach Committee (2000-01); Liaison Committee to the National Association of Bankruptcy Trustees (1999-01)
American Bankruptcy Institute (1995-): Board of Directors (2008-2014 )
Nevada State-Federal Judicial Council (1997-2007)
State Bar of Nevada Advisory Commission on Law Related Education (1990-2010)
Master Emeritus of the Bruce R. Thompson Chapter of the American Inns of Court (1995-)
University of Nevada, Reno Foundation and Foundation Trustee, Past Chair of the Board (1987-94); Emeritus Trustee (1995-)
Access to Justice Foundation of Washoe County, Nevada, Trustee (1997-03)
Washoe Legal Services: Past President; Board of Directors (1993-95)


"The House Doesn't Always Win," Commercial Law League of America 2002
"Prior Restraint and The Press Following the Pentagon Papers Cases-Is the Immunity Dissolving?" 47 Notre Dame Lawyer 927 1972


Named Distinguished Nevadan by regents of the Nevada System of Higher Education(2016)
University of Nevada Silver Award (1994),
Alumni Association Service Award (1994),
University of Nevada President's Medal (1993),
Board of Governors of the State Bar of Nevada Award of Special Recognition (1987),