Personal Photo

James L. Baillie


Current Position

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
200 South Sixth Street, #4000
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Tel: 612-492-7013
Fax: 612-492-7077

Class: VIII (1997)Circuit: Eighth


University of Chicago, A.B. (1964)
University of Chicago Law School, J.D. (1967)

Professional Career

Shareholder, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A. (1973-)
Associate, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A. (1968-73)
Law Clerk, U.S. District Court, The Honorable Miles W. Lord (1967-68)


Hennepin County Bar Association, President (1996-97)
Minnesota State Bar Association, Chair, Bankruptcy Section (1985-88); President (2003-04)
American Bar Association, Chair, Standing Committee on Lawyers' Public Service Responsibility (1993-96); House of Delegates (1994-99); Section of Business Law; Editorial Board of the Business Lawyer (2013-);, Editorial Board of Business Law Today (1996-98); Chair, Pro Bono Committee (1999-04); Business Bankruptcy Committee; Council (2002-06); Section of Litigation, Co-Editor, Bankruptcy and Insolvency Newsletter (1992-94)


"A Privatization Solution to the Legitimacy of Prepetition Waivers of the Automatic Stay," Arizona Law Review Spring 1996
2014 (and prior editions) Minnesota CLE Debtor-Creditor Handbook and Form Book Editor-In-Chief and author of chapters on attachment and replevin
"In the Spirit of Public Service: Model Rule 6.1, the Profession and Legal Education," Law and Inequality: A Journal of Theory and Practice, University of Minnesota December 1994
"Waiver of Bankruptcy Protections in Pre-Bankruptcy Workout Agreements," a chapter in Business Workout Manual, Warren, Gorham and Lamont 1994
"Bankruptcy Lawyers, Bankruptcy Judges and Public Service," Paper of the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges (1993); many others


American Bar Association National "Pro Bono Publico" Award (one of four national recipients the first year the awards were given), (1984)
Minnesota Legal Services Coalition, Pro Bono Publico Attorney Award (1983)
Hennepin County Bar Association, Pro Bono Publico Award (first year awards given) (1992)
Listed in Best Lawyers in America; Minnesota Lawyer of the Year Litigation-Bankruptcy (1989-14)
Minnesota SuperLawyer, Top 100 Minnesota Attorney (2011, 13-14)
TMA National Transaction of the Year, (2009)
ABA Section of Litigation, John Minor Wisdom Award (1999)
Williams Reece Smith, Jr. Award, (2006)
MSBA David Graven Award (2009)
Minnesota State Bar Association Bankruptcy Section, Distinguished Service Award (2013)