Personal Photo

Kristina M. Stanger


Current Position

Nyemaster Goode P.C.
700 Walnut Street
Suite 1600
Des Moines, IA 50309

Tel: 515-283-3100

Class: XXXIII (2022)Circuit: Eighth

KRISTINA is an attorney and shareholder at Iowa’s largest law firm, Nyemaster Goode, where she practices in creditors’ rights and bankruptcy law. Her experience spans such industries as retail, grocery, agriculture, health care, construction, transportation and manufacturing. She appears in both federal and state courts for secured and unsecured creditors in a variety of contexts.
In addition to her legal practice, Kristina is a combat-experienced Lieutenant Colonel in the Iowa Army National Guard. She has served more than 23 years as an enlisted Soldier, commander and planner for state, national and international operations. She now serves as the Battalion Commander of the 109th Multifunctional Medical Battalion – the Hawkeye Medics.


U.S. Army Command and General Staff College
Drake University (J.D., with high honors)
185th Military Regional Training Institute, Army Officer Candidate School (2LT, Distinguished Honor Graduate)
Central College (B.A., magna cum laude)


American Bankruptcy Institute: 40 Under 40 Honoree, 2018; 2020 Service to Veterans Award
Iowa State Judicial Nomination Commission: Elected Member, 2019–Present (six-year term)
Drake University Law School: Alumna of the Year, 2018
Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys (IOWA) and National Bar Association (Iowa Chapter)
Gertrude Rush Award, 2018
Commercial Real Estate Woman (CREW) - Iowa
The Best Lawyers in America®
Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency Reorganization Law, 2022
National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges (NCBJ): NextGen Participant, 2016
Department of Defense Freedom Award: Nominator of recipient Nyemaster Goode, P.C., 2012
Des Moines Business Record’s Forty Under 40: Honoree, 2012
Benchmark Litigation Future Star
Lawdragon 500 Leading U.S. Bankruptcy & Restructuring Lawyers: Honoree, 2020
Iowa State Bar Association: Outstanding Committee Chairperson of the Year, 2010–2011
Army National Guard
Order of the Coif
National Order of Barristers
Drake Law Review: Editorial Board
Drake Moot Court Board