Personal Photo

Toby L. Gerber


Current Position

Norton Rose Fulbright (US) LLP
2200 Ross Avenue
Suite 3600
Dallas, TX 75201-2784

Tel: 214-855-7171
Fax: 214-855-8200

Class: XXIV (2013)Circuit: Fifth


University of Missouri, B.J. with Honors, B.A. Economics with Honors (1972)
Georgetown University Law Center, J.D. (1975)

Professional Career

Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP, formerly Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. (2004-)
Shareholder, Jenkens & Gilchrist, P.C. (1995-04)
Shareholder, Managing Director, Johnson & Wortley, P.C. (formerly Johnson & Swanson) (1988-95)
Attorney, Berman Fichtner & Mitchell (1975-88)


American Bankruptcy Institute (1987-present)
American Bar Association (1975-present)
Dallas Bar Association (1975-present)
Texas Association of Bank Counsel (1988-present)


Co-author, with Jane A. Gerber, “Litigating Attorney-Client Privileges Under the United States Bankruptcy Code and the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure” chapter in the American Bar Association’s The Attorney-Client Privilege in Civil Litigation: Protecting and Defending Confidentiality (7th Ed. 2023)
Idearc Inc. Becomes Supermedia: A Quick Lesson of Birth, Near-Death and Reorganization," Dallas Bar Association 2011 Speaker
"Workouts 2009," IMM 2009 Speaker
"Cross-Border Insolvencies: Selected Issues Under Chapter 15 of the United States Bankruptcy Code and the Uncitral Model Law," International Air Transport Association 2009 Speaker
"Sticky Chapter 11 Plan Confirmation Issues," University of Texas 2008 Speaker
"The Practical Effects of a Bankruptcy Filing by a Non-U.S. Carrier on its Relationships with IATA and Other Carriers," International Air Transport Association 2008 Speaker
"Pre-Bankruptcy Sale Processes in the Context of Distressed M&A," Turnaround Management Association 2008 Speaker


Chambers Global and Chamber USA Partners, (2005-present)
America's Leading Lawyers in Business, (2005-present)
The Best Lawyers in America, (2005-present)
Best Lawyers in Dallas, (2005-present)
Texas SuperLawyer, (2003-21)
Dallas Association of Young Lawyers, Lawyer of the Year (1986)