2019 Regional Duberstein Moot Court Competition

Monday, February 18, 2019

The Seventh Circuit Fellows of the American College of Bankruptcy and the American Bankruptcy Institute are pleased to announce the 2019 Regional Duberstein Moot Court competition.  The competition will be held on February 18, 2019 at the Everett McKinley Dirksen Federal Courthouse, 219 South Dearborn Street, 6th Floor, Chicago, Illinois from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.  Please download the attachment below to access an application.

Judges Janet Baer, A. Benjamin Goldgar, Beth Hanan, Deborah Thorne, Jim Carr and Eugene Wedoff (ret.) and notable bankruptcy attorneys will judge the moot court.

Teams from Indiana (Mauer), Illinois, Notre Dame, Chicago-Kent and Marquette plan to compete.  Additional schools are welcome to apply.  Applications are due December 1, 2018.

We anticipate one preliminary round with an opportunity to take both petitioner and respondent positions and a final round.  There will be a reception and awards at the conclusion of the day for the winning team and the best oral advocate.

Teams are expected to have applied to participate in the National Duberstein Moot Court competition sponsored by St. John’s University School of Law in early March.  The competition will involve the same commercial law fact pattern as used for the Duberstein Moot Court Competition: https://www.stjohns.edu/law/center-bankruptcy-studies/27th-annual-duberstein-moot-court-competition

Law schools may compete in the Regional competition at no cost.  For more information, please contact: Brian Shaw (bshaw@foxrothschild.com) or Nancy Peterman (petermann@gtlaw.com).

Please help us spread the word about this competition!

Download Event Attachment