2021 Distinguished Law and Business Students Announced

Wednesday, March 17, 2021
STANARDSVILLE, VA - March 17, 2021
The American College of Bankruptcy announced today that it has selected its Distinguished Law Students for the First, Third, Fourth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits for 2021 as well as the inaugural Distinguished Business Students. The College rotates the selection of Distinguished Law Students from each Circuit biannually.
The 2021 Distinguished Law Students are:
First Circuit
Alexis Soares
Suffolk University Law School
Boston, MA
Third Circuit
Jamie A. Baum
University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School
Philadelphia, PA
Fourth Circuit
Savannah Lavender
Campbell University School of Law
Raleigh, NC
Ninth Circuit
Hannah-Kaye Fleming
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University
Phoenix, AZ
Eleventh Circuit
Kennedy Rhea Bodnarek
Emory University School of Law
Atlanta, GA
The 2021 Distinguished Business Students are:
Richard Nicholas Jové 
Boston College, Carroll School of Management
Chestnut Hill, MA
William Lenhart
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
To qualify for this prestigious award, the students must be nominated by either a College member or a professor or dean of their law or business school. The students undergo a rigorous evaluation process that includes interviews, submission of written materials and a review of the candidate’s academic standing. All the nominated law students are considered by their respective Circuit council, which selects the Distinguished Law Student; only one student is selected from each Circuit. Business student nominations are considered on a national basis by a separate subcommittee of the College. The honorees are awarded an all-expenses paid trip to the College’s annual Induction Ceremony and Events, which for 2021 will take place on October 5-6, 2021 in Indianapolis where they have an opportunity to meet and get to know the most distinguished bankruptcy practitioners and judges in the country. Many of the Distinguished Students honored by the College have gone on to make their own important contributions to bankruptcy law and practice.
About the College: The American College of Bankruptcy is an honorary public service association of United States and international insolvency professionals who are invited to join as Fellows based on a proven record of the highest standards of expertise, leadership, integrity, professionalism, scholarship, and service to the bankruptcy practice and to their communities. The College funds projects that improve the quality of bankruptcy law and practice, as well as access to justice, in particular through grants by its affiliated Foundation to pro bono legal service programs. The College facilitates the effective domestic and cross-border application of bankruptcy and insolvency laws and the administration of justice in the courts through conducting professional educational programs, sponsoring the publication of scholarly reports, and maintaining the National Bankruptcy Archives. In all of its work, the College is dedicated to enhancing professionalism, scholarship, diversity, and service in bankruptcy and insolvency law and practice.
For more information about the American College of Bankruptcy, or about the 2021 Distinguished Law and Business Students, contact Shari A. Bedker, Executive Director at 434-939-6004, fax at 434-939-6030, email at sbedker@amercol.org.